Avocado Lime Fruit Salad (a How Sweet It Is recipe)

It may be a bit late in the year to post this, but it was one of my favorite discoveries while doing the Whole30, and I just have to share. I’m not sure if there’s a way to use pears and oranges (yay, late-fall fruit!), but it might be worth the experiment.

From the blog “How Sweet it Is

The Recipe

Ingredients

3/4 cup fresh blueberries
6 large strawberries, quartered or halved
3 peaches, sliced
2 small avocados, peeled, pitted and chopped
2 small bananas, sliced
juice of 3 limes
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
tiny pinch of salt
a bunch of fresh mint, some chopped and other leaves left whole for garnish

Directions

“In a large bowl, combine lime juice with honey, salt and a bit of chopped mint leaves. Whisk to combine. Add in strawberries, blueberries and peaches. You can make the salad ahead of time before serving and set it in the fridge at this point. Right before serving, chop bananas and avocado, add to salad, and toss to coat in the lime juice mixture. Garnish with additional fresh mint.”

Anna’s Report

Verdict: This fruit salad was amazing. As far as I am concerned, the avocado and lime (2 ingredients I’ve never used in fruit salad before) made the salad.  I’m sure this salad would be fine-but-unremarkable without the lime, but I think the lime is the key ingredient.  The lime creates a sweet-but-tart backdrop for all the other flavors, and the blueberries and peaches chime in with their tartness of their own.  I think this is what makes the avocado such a good fit, too, since its creaminess is a great counterpoint to the explosions of flavor happening all around it.   OK, yeah, I’m slipping into hyperbole here, but I really liked this salad.

Substitutions or Alterations to the Recipe:

  • I don’t think I used 3 limes’ worth of juice (mine was bottled); if I had to guess, I’d say it was 1-2 limes, at most.
  • I didn’t use mint at all.
  • I eyeballed the fruit quantities

For Next Time:  Sigh.  I’ll have to wait until next summer for this mix of fruit, but when it’s back in season: I won’t change a thing!  (Though, I will try it with mint if I happen to have any sprigs lying around.)  I loved the use of lime and other tart flavors against the avocado, so I might do some experimenting to see if I can come up with something that uses those qualities in counterpoint to the more mellow flavors of fall/winter fruits.

Leave a Reply

