Cashew-smothered pork chops (a cdkitchen.com recipe)

Recipe taken from cdkitchen.com

The Recipe

INGREDIENTS
4 (4-ounce) boneless loin chops — 1 1/4-inch thick
2 teaspoons olive oil
3/4 cup salted cashew nuts – I used unsalted (Anna)
1 clove garlic, minced
crushed red pepper flakes to taste
1/2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger root – I used 1/4 tsp powdered (A)
2/3 cup chicken broth I used less than this (A)
1 tablespoon snipped parsley I omitted this (A)

DIRECTIONS

“Oil skillet with 1 teaspoon of the olive oil. Over medium heat, cook chops 6 minutes. Turn over and cook 7-9 minutes more or until desired doneness (slightly pink in center). Remove meat from skillet; keep warm.

Meanwhile, using food processor or blender, process or blend 1/2 cup of the cashews until finely ground; set aside.

Add remaining olive oil to hot skillet. Add the garlic, ginger root and red pepper. Cook and stir about 15 seconds. Stir in ground cashews. Slowly add chicken broth, stirring until well-blended.  Stir in parsley. 

Serve sauce with pork.  Sprinkle remaining cashews on each serving.”

Anna’s Report

Verdict:  Wow.  These are so yummy!  Definitely worth putting into rotation.  The cashew adds sweetness and the garlic adds savory, and between the paste & the whole nuts on top, proper fat % is achieved.

Alterations:

  • My pork chops were only about 3/4″ thick, but this worked fine.  I think the thicker chops might have been even better, though.
  • My ginger was dried & ground, so I cut the amount in half.
  • I didn’t measure the chicken broth; I poured it in a bit of a time and used just enough broth to make a paste at a consistency that looked tasty to me.

Next time:  I think I would have had more of a sauce and less of a paste if I had blended the cashews a bit longer (and added in more broth), so I might try that next time.  Also, I think I might be allergic to the raw garlic, so I will try it with garlic powder & see how that goes.

Updated 8/17/12:  I made these a second time, and this time I followed the recipe by using 1-1/4″ chops.  Those…are really thick.  I ended up cutting them in half so they would cook faster.  In the end, I think the ratio of pork to cashew sauce is much better with the thinner cut of pork.

Ede’s Report

Verdict: Yummyness seconded.  Tasty and pretty easy.  I was intimidated by the blending of the cashews part, but it was easy!  G & AB also liked it.

Alterations:

  •  I had a length of pork loin, so I cut it into 1 `1/2″ inch slices and it was perfect.
  • Used waaaay more broth than called for to get to the consistency I wanted.

Next time:  Loved it! No changes for me!

Leave a Reply

