Cumin-Roasted Carrots (a Well Fed recipe)

Recipe taken from Melissa Joulwan’s Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat, p.  115 (loc. 2394 in the ebook).

Roasted carrots are a great way to get your carbs (assuming you don’t need to avoid starchy veggies!), and this recipe is a fabulous way to dress up your carrots.

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 pound fresh carrots (~10)
1/2 tbsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1 1/2 tbsp. coconut oil
1/2 fresh lemon (optional)
a few leaves of fresh parsley and mint, mince, for garnish (optional)

Directions

“Preheat the oven to 400F. Cover a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Wash and peel the carrots, then cut them lengthwise into thin strips, about 1/4-inch wide.  Toss them into a large bowl.

With a fork, mix the cumin, cinnamon, salt, and pepper in a small microwave-safe bowl.  Add the coconut oil and microwave until melted, about 15-20 seconds.

Pour the seasoned coconut oil over the carrots and toss with two wooden spoons until the carrots are evenly coated. Sing a verse of your favorite song so you don’t skimp on tossing time. Do a taste test and adjust the seasonings.

Spread the carrots in a single layer on the baking sheet and roast for 15-20 minutes, until tender and slightly browned.  Remove from the oven and squeeze the fresh lemon juice over the top.  Sprinkle with the chopped herbs.”

Anna’s Report

Verdict:  Wow.  Oh, wow.  These were incredibly tasty.  I could definitely eat a whole pound at one sitting.  I won’t, because I’m on Whole 30 and changing the way I eat food.  But man, these carrots are delicious.  I used multi-color carrots, which looked great (which was important because these were for a potluck barbecue), but I found that I liked the flavor of the orange ones the best.  (Note: I made these a second time, when I was in a hurry, and I didn’t toss the carrots very well.  Be sure the oil is fully melted and the carrots are well-tossed, in order to get maximum flavor with this recipe.)

Adjustments to the recipe:   I followed the recipe very strictly, though I did not add the optional lemon or garnish.

Next time:  I don’t think these need the lemon or garnish, so I will probably use the same recipe over (and over) again with regular orange carrots.

Update:  I have made these several times now, and there is one thing to watch for: keeping the amount of oil & seasoning proportional to your carrots.  The first time I made this recipe, I was very careful to follow the recipe exactly.  Since then I have eyeballed the number of carrots, and have experienced both too little seasoning (boring flavor) and too much seasoning (not only was the flavor intense, the spices created a grainy top layer).

Leave a Reply

