Paleo Czech Meatballs (a Well Fed recipe)

Recipe taken from Melissa Joulwan’s Well Fed: Paleo Recipes for People Who Love to Eat, page 89 (loc. 1930 on the ebook).

These meatballs are tasty and simple to make.  You might want to make a sauce or dip to go along with these, as they are a bit dry.  (But tasty! As I mentioned!)

The Recipe

Ingredients

1 clove garlic, minced (~ 1 tsp.)
1/2 tbsp. salt
1 tbsp. caraway seeds
1 tbsp. ground black pepper
1 tsp ground paprika
1 cup fresh parsley leaves, minced (about 1/4 cup)
1 tbsp grainy mustard
2 pounds ground pork

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 F.  Cover a large baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

In a large bowl, mix the garlic, salt, caraway seeds, paprika, pepper, parsley, mustard, and egg with a fork until combined.  With your hands, crumble the pork into the bowl and knead until all of the ingredients are incorporated.

Moisten your hands with water and shake to remove excess.  Measure a level tablespoon of pork and roll into a ball between your palms.  Line up the meatballs like little soldiers on the prepared baking sheet, about 1/2 inch apart.

Slide the meatballs into the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through.”

Anna’s Report

Verdict:  These were really tasty.  They were quite spicy, so my toddler rejected them after her initial positive response.

Adjustments to Recipe:

  • I misread the instructions regarding the amount of parsley, so I used 1 cup of minced parsley, instead of the 1/4 cup she calls for.  I quite like the taste, but next time I will cut back.
  • The “grainy mustard” I used was a brown mustard.

Next Time:

  • These were a bit too spicy for me (and a lot too spicy for my tot).  They were also too salty.  I think both might be cut if I used less mustard.  I will also cut back on the paprika and the salt.
  • Nota bene: I left these on the cookie sheet to cool.  This meant that each meatball had a little corona of congealed fat that I had to rub off.  If you serve the meatballs right away this won’t be a problem, but if you plan to let them sit a bit, you might want to move them to a new location.
Leave a Reply

